Swapping two seats to secure Ayer Hitam parliamentary seat, DAP is out to challenge Wee Ka Siong

Share this if you like:



(KUALA LUMPUR 8 Jan) According to agreement on seat allocation of Pakatan Harapan for the 14th General Election, DAP will be giving up Tanjung Piai and Alor Gajah parliamentary seats for Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia in exchange for Ayer Hitam parliamentary seat.

In other words, Tanjung Piai parliamentary seat will see a battle between MCA and Pribumi where MCA Deputy President Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong will face challenge from DAP. However, another source said DAP would allow a Parti Amanah Negara candidate to contest under the DAP ticket in a bid to pacify the grassroots of Parti Amanah.

Johor DAP chairman Liew Chin Tong, when contacted by Sin Chew Daily, did not deny. He merely replied: “Wee would be very worried by the latest line-up.”

In last General Election, Wee received 22,045 votes by defeating PAS Supporters Congress chief Hu Pang Chow, who contested for the first time. Hu pooled 14,735 votes where Wee won with a majority of 7,310 votes. The majority votes, however, were 6,599 votes lesser than the election held in 2008.

According the electoral roll in 2013, Ayer Hitam is a mixed area with Chinese voters made up of 37.96%.

Mahathir to contest in Kedah instead of Johor

On DAP giving up Tanjung Piai seat to Pribumi, it will be a battle between MCA strongman Datuk Seri Wee Jeck Seng and Pribumi. Rumours circulated that Pakatan Harapan president former Prime Minister Tun Mahathir could be contesting in Tanjung Piai to led the team in Johor. However, it is learned that Mahathir would not be in Johor but likely to contest in Kedah.

Reliable source from Pakatan Harapan told Sin Chew Daily that Mahathir, who is also the chairman for Pribumi has to build up the momentum for his son Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir, deputy president of Pakatan Harapan in order to stabilise the grassroots in Kedah.

“In the event Pakatan Harapan is unable to take over federal government, it may at least take Kedah state.”

Analysts said it would be impossible for Mahathir to contest in unfamiliar seat and this does not match Malay culture. Many parliamentary seats need Mahathir to be present in order to win.

“Tun Mahathir can consider parliamentary seats such as Kubang Pasu, Pulau Langkawi or Jerlun.”

Liew, when asked, also directly denied that Tun Mahathir would contest in Johor.

DAP sources told Sin Chew Daily that the party decided to give in Tanjung Piai as the Malay settlers are majority voters where Pribumi would have a better chance to win the seat.

On handing over Alor Gajah parliamentary seat to Pribumi, it was because the seat was originally under Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) where it gave the seat to DAP in last General Election.

Pribumi to contest Pekan parliamentary seat

Liow Tiong Lai to face DAP candidate in Bentong

On the other hand, in Pahang, Pribumi is given six out of 14 parliamentary seats. Pribumi is the winner here. Under negotiation, Pribumi managed to convince PKR to give up Pekan. A matter of concern is who would be the candidate from Pribumi to face Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak in Pekan. MCA president Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai would continue to face DAP in Bentong.

In Federal Territory, two parliamentary seats under PAS were given to Pribumi after PAS left Pakatan Rakyat. Parti Amanah Negara was not allocated any seat while parliamentary seats contested by DAP and PKR remain unchanged.